View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:44 am

Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Combat 

I am believe it is time that I get strict learning the ways of combat. I do not wish to be a ufc fighter or whatever, I simply wish to learn extremely effective and fast means of unarmed fatal self defense. I have a blade and I intend on working with it as it seems the best stealth and close combat weapon there is.

I do exercise regularly using calisthenics as to stay light and agile while building strength. I am not very good at running/cardio, however.

Now the catch is, I can't really practice this with anyone (certainly not my wife) and I can't afford classes. I have taken karate in the past so I have some background in self defense. How have you learned extreme CQC techniques? I am now reading "Kill or Be Killed" but books I feel may give me a false sense of security and put me in danger given a time I need to take action.

Tue Dec 15, 2015 8:12 pm

Hail Brother!

Combat is great and a very useful tool. If
I were you I would continue to invest in
yourself with physical conditioning. Also
educate your mind on technique. The secret
to martial arts mastery is to constantly train
and drill your defense and offensive techniques
in such a way that they are automatically at
your disposal without thought.

Bruce Lee talks about this in his book the Tao
of Jeetkunedo. I highly recommend you read
this book.

When it comes to knives do you know how
messy they are? I have been involved in
one way or another in around 5 stabbings.

All it takes is cutting an artery to have your
intended victim die within 5-10 seconds. I
personally do not advocate knife training
methods. I too carry a safety device on me
however you must realize the real secret to
using it is not threatening your attacker with
it or exposing it for intimidation. You just
take care of it and get away fast. People
die from knives. They are no toy.

You can destroy someone with your fists