View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 1:51 am

Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Inquiry about the Meanings of the Younger Futhark 

Where is a good source on the meaninings of the Younger futhark, other than Edred thorssons Northern Magic. I have that source, it provides a little bit of knowledge but not too much on the meanings and magical uses as I would like. I am still new to these runes, and have used them a little. I desire to look into more about these runes however. They appear to be the leaner meaner version of the elder Futhark, with some similarities and combinations of the same, but the sources I have on this set do not say much.

Wed Sep 19, 2007 4:01 am
Profile WWW

The following two books go into some detail concerning the Younger Futhark as well as the Elder and are relatively inexpensive. I bought them from Amazon and highly recommend reading them before reading anything else on the Runes, especially "the Rune Primer" (dispels several "myths" about the Runes).

1. The Rune Primer: A Down to Earth Guide to the Runes (Paperback)
by Sweyn Plowright (Author)

Historical facts about the runes in plain English. This book looks at what we really know about them and how we know it. There is also a discussion of the popular authors of esoteric runology, and a chapter exposing the myths and misconceptions about runes perpetuated in many popular rune manuals. The Primer will provide you with a basic factual foundation of rune knowledge, and enable you to sort the useful gems from the rubbish in your future investigations.

and

2. Rudiments of Runelore: by Stephen Pollington

This book provides a comprehensive introduction to the Runes and is well researched.

As I said earlier, these attempt to dispel some myths about the Runes and provide some insight into some authors depictions and interpretation of the Runes and thier personal motivations in doing so.

Tue Oct 02, 2007 6:26 am